Loading page... Wait Bar Animation
TobinMueller.com Mobile Menu Close Button Mobile Menu Button
Home Bio Recordings Music Videos Photography Writings Illustrations Contact
No Place Like Home
from Song Of Myself by Tobin Mueller
Jump to: Liner NotesSong Of Myself album Click here to download the mp3.
Liner Notes

Song Notes: Many thanks go to saxophonist and friend Woody Mankowski for his restrained and elegant playing on this track. His soprano sax floats like a lone bluebird above the hundreds of notes I'm playing, simple wings above the rainbow. This is not meant to be a cover of "Over The Rainbow" (Arlen). It is meant to be one part fantasy, one part original composition. I hope Harold Arlen would enjoy it as much as we have.

The "Over The Rainbow" inspired opening was the first thing I played on my new baby grand piano when it arrived in my living room. For some reason, it led directly into that rhythmic New Age chord progression, loosely based on the Circle of Fifths. So I spent the next 10 days working in this improvisation into a more cohesive arrangement. I hope you like the uplifting quality.

My favorite part is the piano solo in the middle. I try to capture freedom of the sky, of air, of weightlessness. Of flight.

I had a hard to compressing this track so that it would match the others in volume. It was also very diffucult to balance the upper range of the soprano sax with my intense pounding during the louder sections. I wish you all could hear the actual performace, the original unmastered version. Perhaps you could drop me an email?

Song Of Myself

Return to the Song Of Myself page.

Other lyrics pages from Song Of Myself

  1. Impossible Dream [Mitch Leigh/Joe Darion, from Man of la Mancha]
  2. Dignity [Bob Dylan]
  3. American Tune [Paul Simon]
  4. Blue Tattoos [Joni Mitchell]
  5. Blackbird [Paul McCartney]
  6. Being Alive [Stephen Sondheim, from Company]
  7. Frozen Man [James Taylor]
  8. I Have Been Deceived [Elton John/Bernie Taupin]
  9. Let's Pretend [Anderson/Wakeman/Bruford/Howe] (altered lyrics)
  10. Oh Danny Boy [traditional, lyrics by Federic Weatherly]
  11. No Place Like Home [Arlen/Mueller/Mankowski]
  12. Before There Were Gods [lyrics by Tobin Mueller, music by Mueller/Hedges]